The Persistence of Sound Bundle



Persistence of Sound — Bundle

3 × 12" vinyl + digital downloads
Thames + Factitious Airs + The Eccentric Press

Buy the first three Persistence of Sound records and save £10

The first three releases explore the power of location sound as a trigger for emotion and memory, the music within the everyday sounds around us, and how musique concrète tape techniques – transforming concrete sounds from the real world – are being used today. These albums are complementary in their modernism – united as products of particular places and times:

Iain Chambers’ The Eccentric Press comprises two symphonies of industrial and domestic technology, composed solely from recordings by the pan-EU Sounds of Changes project.

Factitious Airs (Electronic Music) is the first solo album by veteran composer & broadcaster Robert Worby: a visceral collection of contemporary electronic music, in which tiny fragments of other musics are fractured, manipulated, combined and rearranged.

Thames is a collection of field recordings by The London Sound Survey following the river from central London to its estuary, seemingly taking us back in time to a quieter place, where nature reasserts itself over man-made sounds.

All records are presented on limited edition vinyl with complementary high quality download audio.